Swiftlet Birds: An In-Depth Of The Four Genera

Swiftlet are birds contained within four genera. They form the tribe Collocaliini within the swift family Apodidae.

Introduction to Swiftlet Birds

Swiftlet birds are small, insectivorous birds in the swift family. There are four genera of swiftlet birds: Collocalia, Aerodramus, Hydrochous, and Tachymarptis review. Swiftlet birds are found in tropical and subtropical regions of Asia, Africa, and Oceania.

Swiftlet birds are small birds with short tails and long wings.  birds have a high metabolic rate and can fly at speeds of up to 50 km/h (31 mph).

Overview of the 4 Genera of Swiftlet Birds

There are four genera of swiftlet birds: Aerodramus, Collocalia, Hydrochous, and Micropanyptila. All four genera are found in the tropical regions of Asia.

Aerodramus swiftlets are the largest of the four genera, and can be found in forested areas. Their diet consists mostly of insects.

Micropanyptila swiftlets are found in caves. Their diet consists of small insects that they catch while flying through the air in the caves.

– Aerodramus

They are small birds with dark plumage and long, tapered wings. Their diet consists primarily of insects, which they capture in mid-air.

There are four species of Aerodramus swiftlets: the White-rumped Swiftlet (Aerodramus spodiopygius), the Glossy Swiftlet (Aerodramus esculentus), the Edible-nest Swiftlet (Aerodramus fuciphagus), and the Black-nest Swiftlet (Aerodramus maximus).

The White-rumped Swiftlet has a white rump and upperwings, and a black tail. The Glossy Swiftlet is entirely dark grey. The Edible-nest Swiftlet is dark grey with a white breast, and the Black-nest Swiftlet is entirely black.

– Schoutedenapus

Swiftlets are small, insectivorous birds in the genus Aerodramus. There are four recognized species of swiftlets: A. hirundinaceus, A. fuciphagus, A. musculus, and A. maximus. All four species are found in Southeast Asia.

A. fuciphagus is smaller than A. hirundinaceus, with a body length of up to 13 cm (5 in). This species is dark grey above and whitish below, with a square-ended tail.

– Collocalia

There are four genera of swiftlet birds: Aerodramus, Collocalia, Hydrochous, and Schoutedenapus.

Collocalia Swiftlets are much smaller than Aerodramus swiftlets, with a body length of only 8 cm. They have short, rounded wings and a square-ended tail. Both sexes are dark grey above with paler throats and breasts. Collocalia Swiftlets build their nests using saliva and small pieces of vegetation such as mosses or ferns.

Hydrochous Swiftlets are intermediate in size between Aerodramus and Collocalia swiftlets, with a body length of 10-12 cm.

Characteristics of Each Genera

There are four genera of swiftlet birds: Aerodramus, Collocalia, Hydrochous, and Micropus. Each has its own unique characteristics.

Aerodramus swiftlets are the largest of the four genera. They have long, pointed wings and a deeply forked tail. Their plumage is mostly dark, with some lighter markings on the underparts. They nest in caves and cliffs, often in large colonies.

Their plumage is mainly dark, with some lighter markings on the throat and breast. They nest in trees and bushes inland from the coast.

Diet & Habitat Requirements for Swiftlets

There are four genera of swiftlets, and each has different diet and habitat requirements. The first genus is Aerodramus, which contains the birds commonly known as “white-rumped swiftlets” or “needletails”. They nest in caves or other dark places, often using their own saliva to build their nests.

The third genus is Hydrochous, which contains the bird known as the “whistling swift”. This bird is found in tropical Africa, and its diet consists primarily of insects. It nests in cliffs or other high places, using its saliva to build its nest.

Breeding Habits & Behaviors

The four genera of swiftlet birds have different breeding habits and behaviors. The Collocalia genus breeds in the wild, while the Aerodramus, Hydrochous, and Aerocetes genera breed in captivity.

The Aerodramus genus also builds its nests out of saliva, but unlike Collocalia, they will use other materials such as leaves and grass in addition to sticks and twigs. The nests of this genus are generally larger and more complex than those of Collocalia.

Aerocetes swiftlets do not build nests at all; instead, they simply lay their eggs on bare rocks or ledges.

Risks to Swiftlets & Conservation Efforts

There are four genera of swiftlet bird, each with their own unique set of risks and conservation efforts.

The first genus, Aerodramus, is the largest and most widely distributed of the four. The greatest threat to this genus is habitat loss due to deforestation and other forms of land conversion. Conservation efforts for Aerodramus focus on protecting remaining natural habitats and halting further habitat loss.


They have adapted to many habitats and regions of the world, making them a source of fascination to bird enthusiasts everywhere. Whether you’re looking for more information on their nesting habits or behavior, we hope this review has given you a better understanding of these incredible creatures. With so much yet to discover about swiftlet birds, there is always something new waiting around the corner!

Leave a Comment